for all endorsements
Commercial Driver Handbook
According to the Official Florida Driver Handbook, a DUI is when you are… “found to be driving or in actual physical control of a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcoholic beverages, controlled substances, prescriptions, or over-the-counter medications.” Now, to identify if you are under the influence, a blood, urine, or breath test must be taken. These tests are mandatory — you agreed to submit to them when you got your driver’s license.
When you take the test, it will show the level of blood alcohol content (BAC) in your system. It is considered driving under the influence if your BAC reaches:
As you’ll notice, the BAC requirement is much lower for minors. This is mainly to discourage any form of DUI among underage drivers. The penalties are severe for underage DUI. The State of Florida follows a Zero-Tolerance Policy. What does that mean? A Zero-Tolerance Policy means that you will receive harsh penalties for a DUI (even if it’s just your first offense).
Penalties for DUI in Florida As we said, the state follows a Zero-Tolerance Policy for underage DUI. So if you are under 21 years old, here are the penalties for every DUI offense made:
Again, remember that you are an underage DUI if you have a BAC of .02% and above. Say your BAC is 0.05% or higher. Well, your license will be suspended for 6 months and you will be required to take a substance abuse course. What if you are above 21 years old? Though the BAC level is higher, the penalties are a lot harsher. Here are the penalties:
The court may also sentence you to imprisonment or require you to a take residential alcoholism or drug abuse treatment program. Note: underage DUI will face these penalties if they have a BAC level of 0.15%+.
How Long Does a DUI Stay on Your Record in Florida? A DUI conviction stays on your FL driving record for 75 years. Unlike other states where these convictions only stay for a decade, Florida has made it almost impossible to get these convictions removed. However, you can always plead to a lesser conviction to the court. If the conviction is reduced, it may be removed from your driving record, depending on the new conviction.
How Many Points is a DUI in Florida? What’s unique about DUI convictions in Florida is that there are no points added to your driving record. These stay on your driving record not as points but as violations or misdemeanors. That said, you will receive 4 points if your DUI leads to reckless driving, accidents, and serious injuries.
The general knowledge test is the first of several tests that you will have to complete in order to get your CDL. The questions cover general information about commercial vehicles, driving, and vehicle inspections. The test has a total of 50 questions, and requires at least 40 correct answers to pass.
You must have an Air brake endorsement on your driver's license to drive a vehicle equipped with an air brake system. This test will test your knowledge of the function, parts, and braking distance of air brakes. The test will consist of 25 questions, and at least 20 correct answers are needed to pass.
The combination endorsement allows you to drive a vehicle with a power unit and one trailer. This test will cover the "ins and outs" of operating articulated vehicles. The exam consists of 25 questions, and requires at least 20 correct to pass.
The Hazardous Material endorsement allows the driver to operate a vehicle containing items such as poisons, explosives, flammables, etc. You will also have to pass the TSA Hazardous Material Threat Assessment to get this endorsement. There are 30 questions, 24 correct required to pass.
The Tanker endorsement allows the driver to operate a vehicle weighing more than 26,000 pounds designed to transport any liquid or gaseous material within a tank that is permanently or temporarily attached to the vehicle. There are 20 questions, 16 correct required to pass.
The Doubles/Triples endorsement is required for drivers to pull 2 trailers (doubles) or 3 trailers (triples) connected to a single power unit. There are 20 questions on this test, and 16 correct answers are required to pass.
Bus drivers must have a commercial driver's license with a passenger endorsement in order to operate a vehicle which seats 16 or more, including the driver. There are 20 questions on this test, and 16 correct answers are required to pass.
School Bus Endorsement is required for any driver who operates a school bus. After the permit tests the training can be only completed by a local school district. There are 20 questions on this test, and 16 correct answers are required to pass.
The Pre-Trip exam is an oral exam where you are expected to check the vehicle parts to insure it is safe for road use. The amount of parts you need to check increase with the size of the vehicle, and by type of vehicle.